Good day!

Somehow today I’ve managed to get up to 15,400 steps.  It was a lovely sunny day so I think it put a spring in my step and made me want to stay out in it a bit more.  I missed my workout DVD this morning but did 45 minutes on the elliptical and walked around for almost 2 hours.  It was by no means a speed walk but I wasn’t just bumbling along either.  The boy loves going out for walks now and it’s become that engrained into his routine that after lunch he’ll say ‘Buggy? Coat?’ and will run off to find my keys.

I was looking for low calorie snacks online and saw that popcorn was low in fat as long as it is popped without oil.  I know us English aren’t massive popcorn fans but I seem to understand that American’s love popcorn (don’t quote me on this, it’s just from reading lots of random stuff over the years!).  After it was popped I had no idea what to put on it that would liven it up so I tried cumin, paprika, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg – separately obviously!  None of them really hit the spot so I was a bit disappointed.  I then ventured upon Chocolate Covered Katie – a blogger who invents healthy dessert recipes and shares them – and found her healthy caramel covered popcorn recipe here.  I haven’t made it as I don’t think I’ll be able to find all the ingredients over here but I’ve been pretty much glued to her blog ever since – and drooling, a lot.  She also has more Larabar recipes.  I urge everyone to make the Hot Fudge Brownie Larabars, I’ve been making them for a few weeks now having found the recipes on another website.  They have become a staple in my diet so much so that I don’t eat chocolate or sweets for almost a month.  They’re full of healthy fats, no added sugar or other chemical nasties and feel really naughty when you eat them.  I split the recipe into 8 which is around 200 calories each but oh so worth it!  Go on, you know you want to!

Leave a Reply

